Catching Up

Hello wonderful readers,

I realize that I have been very undisciplined as of late in respect to the blog and for that I apologize. Sometimes life just gets in the way. I often think about posting and then it’s like…

“I want to work on my puzzle and listen to an audio book.”

or

“I want to read.”

or

“I’m tired and want to go to bed.”

or

“I have homework.”

etc. etc. etc.

The reasons (which, I’ll admit, sometimes also function as excuses) seem endless and I just keep putting it off.

“I’ll do it Thursday since I don’t have any more classes for the week…”

“I’ll do it on Saturday because that’s my day to just relax…”

“I’ll do it Monday night since I have a propensity to only do homework/class reading the night before it’s due [Tuesday night]…”

Clearly you can see how I’ve managed to procrastinate for so long (regardless of whether or not it has been for legitimate reasons).

But no more!

That is the goal.

I fear making you a promise as I try not to make promises I don’t know for certain I can keep. (The way promises should be. You promise = you follow through. End of story. Barring extenuating circumstances, that is.) Therefore, I will do no such thing at this point in time.

What I will do is put a better effort into posting somewhat more consistently (the goal is at least once a week at minimum, because, let’s face it, there’s always something to post about when it comes to my cats).

In the meantime, however, I’ll catch you up on a couple of things in the puzzle department.


Catching Up

I started and finished my lighthouse puzzle. I was super stoked for this one because it (supposedly)

glows    

in    

the    

dark!     

😀

IMG_20150622_173716_605

This is just further evidence that I am a child at heart. This is the same criteria I used I made the final decision on which tennis shoes to buy a few years back (or at least in part).

IMG_20150702_205214

I will post a picture of the lighthouse puzzle in the dark once I (eventually) take one. I just hope it works!

On the whole, the lighthouse puzzle went quickly and without any major hiccups (which is a first this year; there have been issues with the jaguar puzzle, the tiger puzzle, and the beach scene puzzle – though I have since found one of the missing pieces from the beach scene puzzle).

I also started the white tiger face puzzle. When I ordered this puzzle, I also ordered a smaller puzzle roll-up (the other one is just too darn big for a 1000 piece puzzle; maneuvering around it is tricky at times, frustrating at others).

The frustration here is that the roll-up came folded in a small box (creating creases) and the puzzle pieces are rather light. Thus, the pieces do not weigh down the roll-up. Instead, the roll-up makes it difficult to keep pieces together where the folds were.

IMG_20150720_202915_156 IMG_20150720_202933_010

Additionally, I am afraid to roll it up. I did it once and while it didn’t destroy my progress completely, I had to put a good portion back together. Perhaps once I have more of the puzzle finished I will consider it. Perhaps…

The pieces for this puzzle are also funky shaped (like those of the alley cat puzzle from 2012), which will make for an interesting change of pace (the jaguar, tiger, beach scene, and lighthouse puzzles all had what I would deem ‘traditionally shaped’ pieces).

IMG_20150720_203021_385

It is definitely going to take me a little while to get used to the lightness and abnormal shape of the pieces, but this should be fun!

Here is my progress to date:

IMG_20150720_204531

And that covers all of the puzzle haps from while I was blog-slaking. I am looking forward to continuing my current puzzle (though I predict it will continue to have its frustrations) and sending more posts your way! 🙂


3 thoughts on “Catching Up

Leave a comment